2.0ptimizing Blog, Twitter, Facebook

Over at his Mediavorous blog, Brad Berens is having trepidations about the encroachment of 2.0verload on his personal space. He believes that Twitter feels adictive while Facebook Status is nifty noting their similarity.  The trick is to pipe your “data exhaust”–output from activity you’re already engaged in that previously would have been lost to the channel it was intended–into your other spaces. Read on for some quick how-to tips I’ve used to make this time optimized and work harder for me:

Thanks to the magic of widgets and WordPress, Twitter and Facebook Status are the same on my blog. In a few minutes with a little perseverance and some cut+paste skilz I piped my personal twitter stream to the top fold of my blog layout and those of folks I’m following right below. I used the text RSS widget function to do this and subscribed to the two RSS/atom feeds for both functions. Quick FAQ search on WordPress or Google will help you find more. By just doing this, my favorite bloggers and twitterers are now adding value to posts you’re reading on my blog.

Using Twittersync application in Facebook–it removes the “is” and “is twittering” prepends that Facebook or the Twitter application create in that space–I am able to have all my twitter posts update my “Mark Silva [is]…” Facebook status which appears at the top of my page as well as in the SocialGraph newsfeed friends see from me and what they discover first when searching for me. Btw, I still use Twitter application as a widget within Facebook to publish tweats in my Profile, just not to take over my Status because it adds “is twittering” and that’s just a ham-fisted, short sighted brand over-reach from Twitter that Twittersync fixes.

I am also feeding my blog posts into Facebook via the Blog Friends Application which become part of my profile/newsfeeds and makes it a breeze for others to follow my posts as well as for me to follow anyone in my Friends lists on their blogs (if they’re using the same application).

 A couple other nifty pipes: StumbledUpon, Digg and Delicious feeds–when I see an article, video or other piece of content that I find interesting, I tag it and those get populated in my Facebook pages. This is a killer application that will become a mainstay for our agency as we unite the Collective Intelligence to discover and prioritize news that impacts us. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that within 3 months I will be unsubscribed from all email feeds and rely on a healthy 2.0 Collective feed to inform the stories I read each day.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

If this all seems redundant or self-referential, it might be. But it’s all about optimizing efforts so that you don’t have to go from one place to another. Each space starts to become part of the same and the link-backs and connections make the content and context more complete. It is strange to be talking about all of these initiatives as independent and hacks. We’re not at a place where anyone can do this effortlessly. Widgets and RSS are still the digital equivalent of the dial-up modem and coupler–don’t laugh, I actually used both back in 1994-95. It will be a matter of moments when it all becomes more immediate and easy to implement.

In the meantime, hope this was helpful. Do you have any tricks/hacks/fav apps to facilitate in making 2.0 take less time and do more?

9 responses to “2.0ptimizing Blog, Twitter, Facebook

  1. Hi Mark!
    Thanks for the post and comment… in terms of the weirdly cludgy difficulty in connecting all the different parts of your digital life… have you read Henry Jenkins’s Convergence Culture? The intro dives into some of this in ways that I think you’d like.
    Best,
    Brad
    http://www.mediavorous.com

  2. Mark – Thanks for the tips. I’m a big fan of Netvibes for aggregating blogs. Haven’t tried Twittersync yet. Mostly just using Spaces in the new Mac OS X Leopard to organize work space more efficiently. – Tim

  3. You can also check out the official WordPress application on Facebook to get your blog feed on there.

  4. thanks gsik and tim. brad, have become a recent fan of jenkins. been loving henry’s take on transmedia storytelling (http://www.henryjenkins.org/2007/03/transmedia_storytelling_101.html) vs “media integration.” need more marketers and trad agencies to get this concept.

    have not read convergence culture–does it come in rss? 🙂

    cheers! silva

  5. gsik, can you throw us a link to the official wordpress application on facebook? searched in applications by “wordpress” and “blog.” former returned nothing and latter four blog applications that were the same on all tabs–most recent/most popular/most active/newest. 😮

  6. for some reason i didn’t get an email saying someone had responded to this thread. anyways here’s the link: http://www.facebook.com/apps/application.php?id=2373049596

  7. Pingback: Some Twitter Hacks « SoV-Share of Voice

  8. A friend of mine wrote an app called Twitterlicious – it’s a mashup of Twitter, Del.icio.us, and Ma.gnolia.com.

    “When you’re viewing your or a friends’ timeline, you have the option to “clip” the tweet. Doing so saves the URL for that tweet in your Del.isio.us or Ma.gnolia.com account as a private link with a specific tag so you can come back and view it later. So many sites linked to in Twitter are useless on mobile devices, that this clipping is incredibly useful. ”

    http://www.twitterlicious.com/

Leave a Reply

